Daly to start at full-back against Barbarians

Elliot Daly will make his first start at full-back for England in Sunday’s non-cap match against the Barbarians at Twickenham.

There are four uncapped players in the XV, with Henry Trinder at outside centre and Jack Singleton, Elliott Stooke and Zach Mercer in the forwards.

Regular full-back Mike Brown is on the wing, with George Ford and Chris Robshaw the co-captains.

“The match is a fantastic opportunity,” said head coach Eddie Jones.

Daly’s outgoing Wasps team-mate Danny Cipriani is among the replacements, after being named in the squad for the first time under Jones.

Scrum-half Dan Robson is also on the bench, along with fellow uncapped players hooker George McGuigan, prop Nick Schonert and utility forward Josh Beaumont.

“This is a good young squad and their work ethic has been outstanding over the last two weeks,” Jones said.

“It is a great opportunity for them to show they deserve to wear the English rose, to show they can be in contention for the World Cup and a great opportunity for them to put us on the front foot ahead of the South Africa tour.”

The Barbarians have named a strong squad for the Twickenham clash, with former England winger Chris Ashton and Scotland fly-half Finn Russell part of a star-laden backline.

“You never know what to expect from the Barbarians team,” Jones added.

“We know they will be well coached by Pat Lam, we know they have got good individual players and some outstanding individual players, so we need to be up for the unexpected.

“We can’t wait to get back to Twickenham and get on the front foot, please the fans and play some good rugby.”

England side to play Barbarians: Elliot Daly (Wasps); Jonny May (Leicester), Henry Trinder (Gloucester), Piers Francis (Northampton), Mike Brown (Harlequins); George Ford (Leicester), Ben Youngs (Leicester); Joe Marler (Harlequins), Jack Singleton (Worcester), Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins), Elliott Stooke (Bath), Joe Launchbury (Wasps), Chris Robshaw (Harlequins), Tom Curry (Sale), Zach Mercer (Bath)

Replacements: George McGuigan (Leicester), Ellis Genge (Leicester), Nick Schonert (Worcester), Josh Beaumont (Sale), Mark Wilson (Newcastle), Dan Robson (Wasps), Danny Cipriani (Wasps), Denny Solomona (Sale)

Share if you enjoyed this post!

Source link