Gasly penalty reshuffles grid

Race start at 7.10pm, exclusively live on Sky F1, on Sunday night

Last Updated: 10/06/18 4:07pm

Pierre Gasly will now start at the back of the Canadian GP after Toro Rosso and Honda opted to change his engine ahead of Sunday’s race

The Frenchman was knocked out in Q1 on Saturday and was only due to start 16th in any case having had to revert to Honda’s older engine after problems in final practice.

But the team and engine supplier have decided to take advantage of Gasly’s compromised grid spot and install a fresh unit for the race, taking him over the limit for engine use this season. But what would have been a 10-place grid penalty only becomes four to 20th and last places.

Ferrari’s Sebastian Vettel starts on pole ahead of Mercedes’ Valtteri Bottas with the Montreal race starting at 7.10pm BST, live only on Sky Sports F1. Red Bull’s Max Verstappen and world championship leader Lewis Hamilton share row two.

Provisional Canadian GP grid
1. Sebastian Vettel, Ferrari
2. Valtteri Bottas, Mercedes
3. Max Verstappen, Red Bull
4. Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes
5. Kimi Raikkonen, Ferrari
6. Daniel Ricciardo, Red Bull
7. Nico Hulkenberg, Renault
8. Esteban Ocon, Force India
9. Carlos Sainz, Renault
10. Sergio Perez, Force India
11. Kevin Magnussen, Haas
12. Brendon Hartley, Toro Rosso
13. Charles Leclerc, Sauber
14. Fernando Alonso, McLaren
15. Stoffel Vandoorne, McLaren
16. Lance Stroll, Williams
17. Sergey Sirotkin, Williams
18. Marcus Ericsson, Sauber
19. Romain Grosjean, Haas
20. Pierre Gasly, Toro Rosso

Find out more about Sky Sports F1

Watch every race, qualifying and practice session live with Sky Sports F1 in 2018

Share if you enjoyed this post!

Source link