Mitchell Marsh, Head to lead Australia A squads in India

Mitchell Marsh, the Australian allrounder, will be given a chance to prove his leadership credentials when he captains Australia A’s four-day team during a tour of India in September.

The 26-year-old is seen as a contender to become Test skipper Tim Paine’s deputy and is also considered a candidate for the permanent ODI captaincy. Marsh leads a strong squad for the two-match affair in Vizag with emerging wicketkeeper Alex Carey named his deputy. Test players Ashton Agar, Peter Handscomb, Jon Holland, Usman Khawaja and Matthew Rensahaw have all been included.

Joe Burns, Glenn Maxwell and Shaun Marsh, who were part of Australia’s last Test in South Africa, were not included in the squads.

Travis Head, the South Australian captain, has been named and will also captain the one-day team that will compete in a tri-series against India A and South Africa A in Vijawada. Brendan Doggett and Marnus Labuschagne are the only uncapped players in the 28 players named across the squads.

“We’re really pleased with the squads we have assembled for this tour,” Trevor Hohns, Australia’s chief selector, said on Wednesday (May 30). “We’ve got a couple of really experienced international cricketers, a large group who have had a taste of playing for Australia already, and some emerging players who have performed strongly and we believe have the potential to one day play for their country.

“It’s an extremely important tour, as we look for players who can adapt and find ways to excel in sub-continent conditions,” he added. “With Australia’s series against Pakistan in the United Arab Emirates fast approaching, it’s a chance for some players to push for selection for that series, and for all players to gain experience in sub-continent conditions.”

Hohns said the tour was an ideal opportunity to test the leadership of Marsh, Head and Carey. “We’re looking for leaders for future Australian teams, and Travis, Mitch and Alex are all very impressive young men,” he said. “Travis and Mitch both have captaincy experience at state level, and this is an exciting opportunity for them to lead a new group of players in different conditions. Alex, as our Twenty20 vice-captain in the UK and Zimbabwe, is also someone we rate very highly as a leader, and this is another opportunity for him to develop those skills.”

Australia A four-day squad: Mitchell Marsh (c), Alex Carey (vc), Ashton Agar, Brendan Doggett, Peter Handscomb, Travis Head, Jon Holland, Usman Khawaja, Michael Neser, Joel Paris, Kurtis Patterson, Matthew Renshaw, Mitch Swepson, Chris Tremain

Australia A one-day squad: Travis Head (c), Alex Carey (vc), Ashton Agar, Peter Handscomb, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Michael Neser, Matthew Renshaw, Jhye Richardson, D’Arcy Short, Billy Stanlake, Mitch Swepson, Chris Tremain, Jack Wildermuth


Australia A’s One-Day matches – Vijayawada

17 August v India A

19 August v South Africa A

23 August v India A

25 August v South Africa A

29 August – Tri-Series Final

Australia A’s Four-Day matches – Vizag

2 – 5 September v India A

8 – 11 September v India A

Share if you enjoyed this post!

Source link