NASCAR starting lineup at Michigan: Kurt Busch on pole, Kyle Larson starts 26th

Kurt Busch was moving Friday. The 39-year-old won the pole for the FireKeepers Casino 400 with the fastest lap on the track (35.405 seconds) since Jeff Gordon set the record in 2014.

This is Busch’s second pole of the season (Texas). 

“This one was fun because I could trust the car and I knew I needed to go after it hard,” Busch told FS1 after qualifying. “Just watching all the Fords in practice I knew we had a shot at it.”

Brad Keselowski will start second while Kyle Busch will be third and Kevin Harvick fourth.

If Kyle Larson is going to win his fourth race in a row at Michigan, he will have to work his way up from well back. The 25-year-old driver qualified 26th Friday and will have his work cut out for him Sunday. The last eight winners at Michigan in a non-rain-shortened race have started from the top 12 positions.

However, Larson started last at Kansas earlier this year, and the two tracks run similarly, so he will not be completely out of his comfort zone going for his first win of the season at the FireKeepers Casino 400, which can be seen at 2 p.m. ET Sunday on Fox.

Starting lineup for the FireKeepers Casino 400

1. Kurt Busch
2. Brad Keselowski
3. Kyle Busch
4. Kevin Harvick
5. Joey Logano
6. Aric Almirola
7. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
8. Erik Jones
9. Ryan Blaney
10. Denny Hamlin
11. Ryan Newman
12. Clint Bowyer
13. Chase Elliott
14. William Byron
15. Paul Menard
16. Austin Dillon
17. Martin Truex Jr.
18. Chris Buescher
19. Matt Kenseth
20. Jimmie Johnson
21. Alex Bowman
22. Daniel Suarez
23. Michael McDowell
24. Jamie McMurray
25. AJ Allmendinger
26. Kyle Larson
27. David Ragan
28. Bubba Wallace
29. Kasey Kahne
30. Matt DiBenedetto
31. Ty Dillon
32. Corey Lajoie
33. Ross Chastain
34. Gray Gaulding
35. BJ McLeod
36. Landon Cassill
37. DJ Kennington
38. Timmy Hill
39. Garrett Smithley

Share if you enjoyed this post!

Source link