Scotland's Russell ruled of France game by concussion

Media playback is not supported on this device

Six Nations: France v Scotland
Venue: Stade de France, Paris Date: Saturday, 23 February Kick-off: 14:15 GMT
Coverage: Watch on BBC One; listen on BBC Radio Scotland 92-95 & 5live sports extra; TV, radio & live text commentary on the BBC Sport website & app

Scotland fly-half Finn Russell has been ruled out of the Six Nations trip to France after failing a concussion test.

Russell was replaced in the first half of Racing 92’s 34-29 defeat by Top 14 leaders Toulouse on Sunday after suffering a head knock.

On Tuesday, Scotland said he had not satisfied the requirements of the “graduated return to play protocol” for concussion cases.

Russell, 26, will return to the care of his club’s medical team.

  • Under-pressure Brunel goes for youth
  • ‘Toughened up’ Berghan ready for France

Scotland have called up Worcester Warriors’ Duncan Weir as cover, with Glasgow Warriors duo Peter Horne and Adam Hastings in the frame to start at the Stade de France.

Back row Magnus Bradbury, wing Dougie Fife and centre James Johnstone, all Edinburgh, and Glasgow Warriors forwards Zander Fagerson and George Turner were also added to the squad this week.

Warriors pair George Horne and Stafford McDowall, as well as Edinburgh front-row forwards David Cherry, Murray McCallum and Leicester Tigers forward Jake Kerr, have dropped out.

Scotland head coach Gregor Townsend is already without his first-choice back row from last year in John Barclay, Hamish Watson and Ryan Wilson, as well as in-form forward Sam Skinner and key prop WP Nel.

Last week, he lost British and Irish Lions full-back Stuart Hogg and centre Huw Jones to injuries that may keep them out for the remainder of the tournament.


Scotland squad

Forwards: Alex Allan (Glasgow Warriors), Adam Ashe (Glasgow Warriors), Simon Berghan (Edinburgh), Jamie Bhatti (Glasgow Warriors), Magnus Bradbury (Edinburgh), Fraser Brown (Glasgow Warriors); Luke Crosbie (Edinburgh), Allan Dell (Edinburgh), Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors), Grant Gilchrist (Edinburgh), Gary Graham (Newcastle Falcons), Jonny Gray (Glasgow Warriors), John Hardie (Newcastle Falcons), Rob Harley (Glasgow Warriors), Stuart McInally (Edinburgh), Willem Nel (Edinburgh), D’Arcy Rae (Glasgow Warriors), Jamie Ritchie (Edinburgh), Josh Strauss (Sale Sharks), Tim Swinson (Glasgow Warriors), Ben Toolis (Edinburgh), George Turner (Glasgow Warriors), Ryan Wilson (Glasgow Warriors).

Backs: Chris Dean (Edinburgh), Dougie Fife (Edinburgh), Darcy Graham (Edinburgh), Nick Grigg (Glasgow Warriors), Rory Hughes (Glasgow Warriors), Sam Johnson (Glasgow Warriors), Chris Harris (Newcastle Falcons), Adam Hastings (Glasgow Warriors), Stuart Hogg (Glasgow Warriors), Pete Horne (Glasgow Warriors), James Johnstone (Edinburgh), Lee Jones (Glasgow Warriors), Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh), Greig Laidlaw (Clermont Auvergne), Sean Maitland (Saracens), Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors), Henry Pyrgos (Edinburgh), Tommy Seymour (Glasgow Warriors), Duncan Weir (Worcester Warriors).

Share if you enjoyed this post!

Source link